Real-time editing, together: Digital Collaboration Tools

Do you want to talk to us?

E-mail and chat are becoming a thing of the past – taken over by new collaboration tools. They are being revolutionized by new digital collaboration techniques, including modern solutions such as Trello, Asana and Wunderlist (task management), doodle (appointments), confluence (wiki), messaging programs like WhatsApp or integrated solutions such as Slack, Yammer and the new Workplace by Facebook.

New digital techniques of collaboration are a response to the emerging working concepts of our time. These include the movements towards “agile working” “creative leadership” and “digital leadership”.

With the increased freedom to work remotely and network effects, collaborative tools that can quickly be deployed and are easy to use, become increasingly important for businesses.

These new “Collaboration Tools” support the adoption of old hierarchies and “Command & Control” principles in favor of self-determined, free and self-organized work. They also help companies to be more mobile and adaptable.

Sharing is the new e-mailing

Services such as Google Docs, Microsoft Office 365, or Dropbox Paper enable companies to collaborate on documents. Parallel or time-delayed joined editing, opens up great potentials that have not been possible through e-mail communication. Teams with a common purpose and goal, share their insights and thoughts in one central spot – a work-flow revolution that continues to grow in popularity. Dropbox, iCloud and Box, to name some examples, have paved the way for online collaboration. One field in which online team cooperation has become increasingly common is mind mapping.

Changes through digital collaboration tools

  • The production speed of documents is effectively increased if, for example, eight people can write a document in parallel. Removing the need to send several e-mails back and forth, until the final acceptance is confirmed by all parties is a time saver.
  • Increase in granularity and detail through collaborative work
  • A shared document increases creativity; a look at the work of others can inspire the reader to take these thoughts to the next level. Two minds do know more than one and shared documents can enhance this process, significantly.
  • Digital collaboration tools can help avoid so-called “data silos,” and information can be exchanged across the boundaries of organizational units and teams, making processes more transparent. Furthermore, shared online documents create transparency; who is working on what, what are the others doing? This holds true for larger and smaller groups, alike.

The digital collaboration tools are creating more and more living forms of new collaboration.
To share and create documents together promotes team criticism, improvement, transparency of interactions, and structure. This shared process ultimately introduces a new project culture.

LET’S GO! Do you want to digitize your project culture and introduce new collaboration tools? We are happy to help. Write us.


LET's talk about it

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Our Newsletter

Stay ahead of your competition

Gemeinsames Bearbeiten in Echtzeit: Digitale Collaboration Tools

Die Formate E-Mail und Chat entwickeln sich mehr und mehr zu Urgesteinen der Kollaboration. Sie werden revolutioniert von neuen digitalen Techniken der Zusammenarbeit, dazu gehören moderne Lösungen wie etwa Trello, Asana und Wunderlist (Aufgabenmanagement), Doodle (Terminfindung), Confluence (Wiki), Messaging-Programme wie WhatsApp oder integrierte Lösungen wie Slack, Yammer und das neue Workplace by Facebook.

Die neuen digitalen Techniken der Zusammenarbeit sind eine Antwort auf die aufstrebenden Arbeitskonzepte unserer Zeit. Dazu gehören die Bewegungen in Richtung „agiles Arbeiten“ „kreatives Führen“ und „Digital Leadership“. 

Mit zunehmender Freiheit und parallel wachsender Ver­netzung ­werden kollaborative Tools, die schnell bereitgestellt und unkompliziert nutzbar sind, für Unter­nehmen immer wichtiger.

Die neuen „Collaboration Tools“ können die Verabschiedung von alten Hierarchien und „Command & Control“ – Prinzipien zugunsten eines selbstbestimmten, freien und selbst organisierten Arbeitens unterstützen. Zudem helfen sie Unternehmen beweglicher und anpassungsfähiger zu agieren.

Sharing ist das neue E-Mailing

Dienste wie Google Docs, Microsoft Office 365 oder Dropbox Paper ermöglichen Unternehmen die gemeinsame Bearbeitung von Dokumenten. Das parallele oder zeitversetzte gemeinsame Bearbeiten eröffnet große Potenziale, die in der E-Mail Kommunikation bis dato nicht möglich waren: Mit gemeinsamer Zielsetzung wird in einem Team „losgeschrieben“, angepasst, Feedback geteilt  – eine Revolution der Arbeitsabläufe, die immer populärer wird. Zumal auch die gemeinsame Nutzung von Online-Sharing über Webdateidienste wie Dropbox, iCloud oder Box, etwa im Bereich des Mind-Mappings, immer üblicher wird.

Veränderungen durch digitale Collaboration Tools

  • Das Herstellungstempo von Dokumenten steigert sich effektiv, wenn beispielsweise acht Personen ein Dokument parallel schreiben und nicht mehr mehrfach per E-Mail hin- und herschicken bis die finale Abnahme bestätigt wird 
  • Zunahme von Granularität und Details durch gemeinsames Arbeiten
  • Ein geteiltes Dokument verabschiedet eine alleinige Autorenschaft und erhöht die Kreativität: Man schaut einander erst beim Denken zu, lässt sich inspirieren und lektoriert gemeinsam
  • Digitale Collaboration Tools können dabei helfen sogenannte „Datensilos“ zu vermeiden und Informationen können über die Grenzen von Organisationseinheiten und Teams hinweg getauscht werden, sodass sie Prozesse transparenter machen. Sie machen es damit möglich, in größeren Gruppen Orientierung zu finden: Wer arbeitet woran, was machen die anderen gerade? 

Durch die digitalen Collaboration Tools entstehen mehr und mehr lebendige Formen der neuen Kollaboration.
Das Teilen und gemeinsame Erstellen von schriftlichen Dokumenten fördern Kritik und Verbesserungen im Team, die Transparenz der Interaktionen und Struktur und stellen die Weichen für die Einführung einer neuen Projekt-Kultur.

ALL HANDS ON! Sie wollen Ihre Projekt-Kultur digitalisieren und neue Collaboration Tools einführen? Wir helfen gerne. Schreiben Sie uns.


Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Our Newsletter

Stay ahead of your competition